July 30, 2015


Ozar-Hasegawa Ethics Award

The Ozar-Hasegawa Dental Ethics Award – presented by The American Society for Dental Ethics

The Ozar-Hasegawa Ethics Award is an annual award presented by the American Society for Dental Ethics to a dental or dental hygiene student for an essay or comparable product of careful ethical reflection. The Award is named for two individuals who have contributed to the scholarship, discussion, and application of dental ethics, Professor David Ozar (Loyola University) and Dr. Thomas Hasegawa Jr. (Baylor, deceased).

The ASDE Board of Directors is pleased to announce the 2017 winners of the Ozar-Hasegawa Award. The Award is open to submissions from predoctoral, dental hygiene, graduate dental and graduate dental hygiene and international dental students.

For information on how to submit an entry, please download the application (PDF)

Note: An updated application will be posted in January for submission in February. Winners to be announced in April.

Congratulations to the Winners

Mr. Timothée Cousin – The Vulnerable Patient (PDF)
University of Washington

Ms. Rebeca Engel – Exploring Options for an Ethical Challenge: Three Shades of Grey (PDF)
University of Alberta

Raven-Deneice Grant – Diaries of a DDS (PDF)
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry

Joe Vaughn – Ethics on our Sleeve (PDF)
University of Alabama Birmingham

Zach Smith – The New Dentist’s Pledge (PDF)
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, School of Dentistry

Debra Peterson – Cheating: Who or What Does it Really Hurt? (PDF)
Courtney Killough – No Matter the Scale (PDF)

Eric C. Chen – Ethical Considerations of Randomized Control Trials with Human Participants in Dentistry: A Reflective Analysis (PDF)

Athena deBrouwer, BMSc – Ethical Case Analysis: Culturally Diverse Patients and Professional in Dentistry

Jeffrey Hoyle – The Distressed Patient Seeking Self-Harm: Autonomy versus Beneficence

Crystal Riley – Dentists vs. Auto Mechanics: Are There Ethical Differences? A Reflective Analysis

Andrew Swiatowicz – Honorable mention award winner Sam Malkinson